Home / Consultant

What is Ayurveda?

Indian traditional medicine is called ayurveda. By translating ayuh as life and veda as science, it is considered to be the science of life. It includes the earliest traditional body of knowledge regarding the nature of man.

We gain a profound understanding of who we are thanks to ancient wisdom from the Indian culture. Numerous helpful suggestions make reference to both overall health and the treatment of disorders holistically. The ancient teachings and their holistic healing techniques have been transmitted and practiced for more than 2000 years. Ayurveda is more current than ever now! It mixes conventional wisdom with contemporary requirements.

Individual and holistic - modern-day traditional medicine

Ayurveda is particularly close to life due to its specific approach to the human being and the variety of the kinds of therapy. Personal needs are prioritized, while dogmatic expectations and harsh restrictions are avoided. Whoever follows Ayurvedic advice incorporates personally helpful habits into his daily life.

In Ayurveda, the basis for a fulfilled life is inner harmony and the balance of all forces living in the body. Thus, from an Ayurvedic perspective, health is not just a general state of well-being, but also a state of joy of life, energy, and inner contentment.

Ayurvedic principles

The three Doshas

The Doshas are three principles in charge of controlling all processes and functions in the body. According to Ayurvedic theory, everyone has a unique combination of doshas. As a result, we can see that everyone has a distinct, individual constitution. A person is healthy and happy if the three Doshas, Vata, Pitta, and Kapha, are in harmony. If they are disrupted, they will experience a variety of physical and psychological problems.

Vata is the moving principle in the human body and is made up of the components ether and air. It is intimately related to the nerve system and also to the mental and energy bodies.

Pitta is created by combining the elements fire and water. It represents the physical and mental conversion concept. Thus, Pitta is in charge of all metabolic and digestive processes, as well as human intelligence.

Kapha, which is made up of the elements water and earth, signifies the preserving and stabilizing power. It performs lymphatic and immune system functions and is involved in body creation.

The Five Elements

Agni, the digestive fire, is the fourth functional principle in the system, following Vata, Pitta, and Kapha. Agni Pitta produces it, and its headquarters are in the upper belly. It is present in every cell as the "life fire" and is required for all living functions. It determines the ability and potency of food to nourish the body's numerous tissues. It collaborates with the doshas, is fundamental to all metabolic processes, and is in charge of food breakdown and transformation. Every ailment, according to Ayurvedic theory, is caused by an Agni disturbance. Agni is the energy required for all physiological transformation processes as well as the overall tissue structure. If this is disrupted, diseases of various kinds will emerge.

Form submission